8 Comments

We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by S J Watson

It’s hard to choose just one book. Here are two that I read within the last year:

Getaway by Zoje Stage - three women hiking in the Grand Canyon. One man w really bad intentions.

The Collective by Alison Gaylin - get a copy and dive in.

Expand full comment
Oct 25, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I recently found The Whisper Man by Alex North unbelievably scary - not a 'Halloween read' as such but verrrry creepy and jumpy!

Expand full comment

Hey Steve,

If you haven't already devoured it, Naomi's Room by Jonathan Aycliffe is a pretty terrifying read. Well worth grabbing a copy.

Hope you're well, too.

Best, Graeme.

(Twitter: @koebnig)

Expand full comment
author

I haven’t! I shall have to look it up! Thanks

Expand full comment

I just recently read Stolen Tongues by Felix Blackwell and it was BONE CHILLING! It was such a fabulous story with so much horror in it. It wasn’t scary just for the sake of being scary, but it was terrifying. I really loved the whole journey, but I had to take breaks so I didn’t have nightmares.

The PROLOGUE alone made my entire body shake. It was such a great scary read for October!

Expand full comment
author

Another one I don't know! Thanks for the recommendation!

Expand full comment
Oct 24, 2022Liked by S J Watson

It was fabulous!

I also enjoyed Heart-Shaped Box by Joe Hill and The Troop by Nick Cutter earlier this year. Both have stuck with me and remembering scenes from both still gives me goosebumps!

Expand full comment