8 Comments

I used to work in a cinema where we put commercial films on in two screens and this would give us the revenue to run art house/independent films in the other two screens. If publishers are working with the same ethos maybe that’s okay. Publish some easy wins to finance some riskier projects and debut authors. If though it is just about making money from celebrity branding and easy sells - well that’s sad.

Expand full comment
author

Maybe they do have that approach. I'd like to think so. But I'm far from convinced...

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2023Liked by S J Watson

Other than biographies, I don't think I've ever purchased a book written by a celebrity, so I guess I agree with you. And surely he doesn't need the money - so is it just the publisher trying to cash in?

And tbh, if I saw that book in a shop I would probably think gosh, an author with the same name and not even realise it's him! LOL

Expand full comment
author

Haha I suspect you're not the only one, which I suppose is why they've put 'FROM SCREEN LEGEND' on the jacket! Gotta make sure no one misses it.... 😝

Expand full comment

I think having something ghost written from an idea you've had is ok, if the ghost writer is acknowledged.

I think its possible that large publishing houses will end up with a lot of AI novels and this kind of celebrity stuff, but there will always be room for original work and creativity in smaller presses. And I think they will also become increasingly creative in how they get their authors' work seen in a more complicated market.

I am, possibly, a bit of an optimist.

Expand full comment
author

We need optimists! And I hope you're right!

Expand full comment

I avoid anything written by a celebrity, I just assume it’ll be bad, or at best mediocre. It’s lazy of me but there are so many amazing writers out there that it helps narrow my choices down 😁

Expand full comment
deletedNov 9, 2023Liked by S J Watson
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
author

Good point - celebrities have ready-made and easily accessible audiences of course. Easy win for the publishers.

Expand full comment