3 Comments
Nov 2, 2023Liked by S J Watson

When I was young, I would always take a book on the tube to avoid unwanted attention, especially at night. It didn’t work. The first question was generally. ‘What are you reading?’ Or ‘What’s it about?’…

Expand full comment
author

I suppose it's marginally more acceptable when the interruption is at least *about* what you're reading. Just.

Expand full comment
founding

Nah, books are asynchronous. I'd be more bothered if someone interrupted me when I was watching a movie or tv show, assuming it can't be paused. Back before I became a freelancer homebody, and spent a lot of time on buses and trains reading, I wouldn't have minded if, as Amanda said, someone asked about what I was reading. It's a great way to strike up a conversation; much better than talking about the weather.

Expand full comment