16 Comments
Sep 6, 2022Liked by S J Watson

Writing prompts can be great to get the juices flowing, but they don't necessarily teach the writer anything or help them improve. I love the ones where you are given a sentence (eg: I walked to the bedroom, sat on the chair, and looked at my wife), and you have to spend ten or fifteen minutes changing the verbs . (I stormed to the bedroom, kicked the chair, and glared at my wife. Or, I tip-toed to the bedroom, perched on the chair, and ogled my wife.) Everyone should have a thesaurus!

Expand full comment

What a wonderful and generous suggestion. Any exercises on getting pacing right would be most welcome :)

Expand full comment

What a great idea, Steve! Make it fun. How about one prompt; different genres? Like write as a crime thriller, horror, SFF, romance, historical fiction - whatever. An experiment that'll push us out of a certain comfort zone.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by S J Watson

Great idea! I would be down for this writing stretch!

Expand full comment

A good idea! For me, it would encourage me to actually get writing, rather than just thinking about writing.

Expand full comment

I would so love that, I need that prompt to get started. What a wonderful idea, thank you so much SJ.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I think that would be a wonderful idea, and I am definitely interested.

Expand full comment

Honestly? I like to think I'll share. But do you mean sharing snippets after writing for, like ten minutes? Or ideas that turn into a full-blown short story? Is there a word limit? Do you mean short and snappy shares? I'm nervous already...

Expand full comment

That sounds like a lot of fun. I think prompts that allow writers to experiment around dialogue tags. I see this topic discussed a lot on line.

Expand full comment
Sep 6, 2022Liked by S J Watson

great idea.

Expand full comment

Great idea!

Expand full comment

Anything that helps me develop my skills is welcome. I also think seeing how other people approached the same task is a great way to develop. Giving and receiving criticism is probably the best way to improve.

Expand full comment
Sep 6, 2022Liked by S J Watson

yes mate, good idea. go for it.

Expand full comment

I loved the idea

Expand full comment

What's a good writing prompt / exercise to keep you motivated with your writing when you're in the middle / marathon section?

Expand full comment

A good idea! For me, it would encourage me to actually get writing, rather than just thinking about writing.

Expand full comment