24 Comments
Aug 1, 2022·edited Aug 1, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I initially connected with some authors on Facebook/Goodreads after reading their books. This then led to me finding reading groups and connecting with new to me authors, I have then looked at their past work and bought and read both old and new.

I love how social media has introduced me to authors and genres I wouldn’t necessarily have read before I made contact with the 1st author I did on Facebook

Expand full comment
Aug 6, 2022·edited Aug 6, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I've read books from authors on Twitter and Instagram, mainly because I like the cut of their jib, and it has broadened my reading scope. I think Jess Burton handles social media well - a nice mix of promo, thoughts and trivial/fun stuff.

Expand full comment
Aug 2, 2022Liked by S J Watson

Hi, I have usually found an author on social media after I have read their books, I find Catherine Ryan Hyde and Mark Edwards tend to be most likely to post about up coming books, and by asking for information or sometimes giving tiny plot clues you feel like you have a secret peek into their books. I do have good read, twitter, instagram and snapchat but I don't really use them

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I mainly read crime novels and use Twitter only really so I love seeing authors works but it still comes down to if I like the sound of the book I will read it, if I don't I won't but I do see books I would have never noticed elsewhere, but I guess I mainly follow crime authors anyway

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by S J Watson

Hi SJ, Great questions. For me personally, I find that it is usually the case of reading someone's work and then following them on social media afterwards because I have particularly enjoyed it. I did this recently with End of Men by Christina Sweeney-Baird.

I find Linwood Barclay, Karin Slaughter, Karin Nordin, Clare Mackintosh, Lisa Jewell and Jeffrey Deaver are quite responsive. I think that social media is a great way for me as a reader to find out more about an author's interests and creative process. It is also a great way to hear about new books and promotions directly from the source. I heard about the discount for Lisa Jewell's new book on her Facebook page. Every few days there is something funny from Karin Slaughter on her Facebook feed - usually to do with cats!

Expand full comment
author

Thanks for sharing! I've never been a cat person (don't hate me!) but maybe Karin can convince me...

Expand full comment

😆I am not a cat person either...prefer dogs!

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I mostly connect with my favorite authors but have discovered some new one and I have bought their books or was offered a free read and then bought more to continue the series. Kathy Daley, Tonya Kappes, Summer Prescott, are just a few that I can think of off of the top of my head. I know there are many more that are active on FF and Instagram.

Expand full comment
Aug 1, 2022Liked by S J Watson

I've rarely liked or followed an author on social media, unless I've read and enjoyed one of their books. In order for me to like or follow them (if I haven't read one of their books), they would have to provide funny, thought-provoking, or interesting content. Claire Mackintosh has nailed this, in my opinion. It's a mix up of funny reels and voice-overs, her own book related stuff, personal life pics/video with commentary (not book related), Q&As, comps and giveaways, shout outs (not all book related) ... and a lot more. As an aside, I've actually STOPPED following authors on social media when I've found them to be constantly spamming, downright rude, or ignoring/not engaging with their followers.

Expand full comment
author

Claire is very engaging, isn't she? Though I don't know where she finds the time!

Expand full comment
Aug 2, 2022Liked by S J Watson

Haha! I read somewhere that she splits her "work" time equally between writing, doing all that's expected of her from her publishing team, and engaging in social media (which includes responding to messages, promoting her books, trying to grow her audience etc.). But yes... I agree. She's always on the go!

Expand full comment

Already bought his books for many years but Chuck Palahniuk is so engaging on his Substack. I follow a lot of writers, publishers etc. on Twitter as I find it a good way to find out about new books.

Also as an attender of Harrogate Crime Writing Fest it genuinely seems like a nice scene/group of people. I’m ex-games industry PR and the social media for that can be awful!

Expand full comment
author

Crime writers are lovely. Ironic, really...

Expand full comment

It's usually the 2nd option for me. I connect with writers whose books I alreadt know but not all of them though.

Sooner or later, I find that I fell in love with the writers' work and not the writers themselves. Therefore, following them on social media is usually short term...lol

Expand full comment
author

Haha I get you!

Expand full comment

Same!

Expand full comment

I mostly use social media to stay up to date on what's coming out etc.

It can be hard when you follow a bunch of big name authors when you're having relatively little success yourself though! If I'm selling a book, I'm getting a beer in! Haha.

I think Will Dean is a great writer to follow online. His YouTube channel is great and he tries hard to spread positivity.

Expand full comment
author

Interesting point. I suppose there's a fine line between 'inspiring' and 'dispiriting' and sometimes it's hard not to cross it!

Good luck with your writing!

Expand full comment

It is mostly inspiring to be fair but I usually dip out on days agents have told me to get lost. Haha

Expand full comment

Both - Will Carver I discovered because of your twitter book club, and Sarah Hillary. And whilst I love Will Dean's writing, if I am honest I mainly follow his tweets because of the gorgeous Swedish countryside and his very handsome dog. I love your photography (one of your pictures inspired an idea for a story). I love Joanna Harris' shed too.

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow! I love that one of my photos inspired a story! That makes me smile!

Expand full comment

It was a black and white shot of a couple sat at the end of a stone jetty with a very misty seascape so you can't see the horizon.

Expand full comment

I've bought several books because of a post I saw and discovered writers. I find Lisa Jewell very engaging and you're not too bad yourself :-) lol

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, that's very kind...

Expand full comment