23 Comments
author

I stared Gwen Adshead's THE DEVIL YOU KNOW a couple of days ago and it's a brilliant if occasionally uncomfortable read. Adshead is a forensic psychiatrist who worked at Broadmoor, and in the book she talks about connecting with / working with people who've committed some of the worst crimes imaginable. Fascinating, so far at least...

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

Meet Me In Another Life by Catriona Silvey. Loving the different relationships in different lives between Santi and Thora. Worth a read. X

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I was so chuffed to receive a proof of The Heights which I loved. Louise Candlish is a genius at peaking behind the lives of ordinary people and exposing secrets and lies. Just when I thought there were no more twists....another one was thrown into the mix! Usually I alternate between books, so I am halfway through Manhattan Beach (what a book!) and I have started Death of a Diva by Derek Farrell and I have also started The Heart's Invisible Furies by john Boyne.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

Reading Fragile by Sarah Hilary. Excellent.

Expand full comment

At the moment I'm beta reading The Calligromancers by J.J. Crown. I like the magic system and the intrigue of this book. Calligromancers use magical quills to draw/write their magic and then bring it to life by signing their name. It's an enjoyable read so far.

Also reading Phoenix Extravagant by Yoo Ha Lee. Automaton dragon and a non-binary protagonist? Yes please. Stunning.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I’ve embarked on Tana French’s Dublin Murder Squad series. I finished In The Woods and am now reading The Likeness. I’ve been a restless reader this year — excited about so many titles, but yet to feel captivated by anything. I chalk it up to me, rather than the books.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

The Midnight Library Matt Haig....surely everyone's read it by now!

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

Grimm Up North by David J Gatward

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I’m almost done w THE OTHER BLACK GIRL. Whoa!!! It’s a trip. Biting and funny and very twisty.

Expand full comment

I’m reading The 8th Girl but then I’m going to read Second Life for the 2nd time as I loved it

Expand full comment

Almost finished American Dirt which is great. Other instant classics I’ve enjoyed this year are Long Bright River by Liz Moore, The Last Thing to Burn by Will Dean and The Survivors by Jane Harper.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I am reading through the Iain M Banks Culture series - genre defining sci fi written from 1987 and through the 90s. I am going to read them all which will take me a while and am on book 3, Use of Weapons. Amazing world building with spinning liquid planets, and good AI who do all the dirty work while people are free to focus on things that make them tick like art, writing books and sex.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

Been slow to re-start reading for pleasure after three years reading for a PhD, but on a whim I bought Mr Wilder and Me by Jonathan Coe. I love Billy Wilder's films and this dovetailing of fact and fiction brought many subtle delights in its deft experimention with character and time; it even includes a section in filmscript form. I didn't read it on a beach, but it would work very well in that setting.

Expand full comment

I have just finished The System by Ryan Gattlis, absolutely fantastic read. Set in 90s LA, the book is centred around a gang shooting. Very Ellroy esque. All characters very well researched and presented. Highly recommended.

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I’ve been alternating between ‘Finding Grace Kelly’ by M.G Callahan and ‘Vivien’s Heavenly Ice Cream Shop’ by Abby Clements. 🌸💖🌸💖

Expand full comment
Jul 25, 2021Liked by S J Watson

I’ve read some really good ones recently. Top 3 which are currently available would be The First Day of Spring by Nancy Tucker, The Forevers by Chris Whitaker, and Meet Me In Another Life by Catriona Silvey. I’d also highly recommend looking out for The Lighthouse Witches by CJ Cooke which is out at the end of September.

Expand full comment