MEETINGS

I was in a rut with my novel when I found out about S J Watson's one-to-one meetings. Taking the 'meeting plus' option I sent Steve my 2,000 words - and boy am I pleased I did!  Steve not only gave me incredibly insightful feedback but also suggested I frame my work differently giving it greater appeal.  It was a lightbulb moment.  In just 45 minutes he offered me renewed hope and a potential path forward.  In addition to that he was just really easy to chat to.  I would highly recommend booking a session.  You won't regret it.

-Rob Walker

Meetings are a place for you to workshop your writing with me; discuss any challenges you’re facing with your work; or further develop characters and ideas - whatever you need.

In 45 minutes, Steve helped me with the shape of the novel, the denouement and a plot twist and I feel much more prepared now to complete the manuscript. This is a valuable offering for serious writers. It’s not often that a writer gets the chance to discuss the project with a best selling author and I highly recommend making use of this facility. It has set me up for the task ahead.

- Phil Platts

There are three Meeting types available:

Meetings will last for 45 minutes and cost £89. They will take place over Google Meet.

Meetings Plus are as above, but I will also read up to 2000 words of your work prior to our 1:1. To reflect the extra work involved, they will be more expensive. They cost £139.

Meetings Deluxe include everything mentioned above, but I will also provide detailed written feedback on your work prior to our 1:1, and the meeting will last one hour. These cost £179.

I had a great meeting with Steve. He had a fantastic eye for detail, great ideas, and a deep understanding of the writing craft. He was supportive, encouraging, and most importantly honest in his feedback. He helped me polish the opening to my MS, giving me the confidence to send my work out for submission. I highly recommend a meeting with Steve to anyone who wants to develop as a writer.

-Clare Anderson

All the meetings are available now, but space is limited, so act fast!

BOOK A MEETING

Chatting with Steve helped me ground myself in the novel I'm working on, and has given me a great push to carry me through to the end of the first draft. He asked excellent questions about the characters and their motivations, and his insights around conflict unlocked a much better start to the novel. Recommended!

—Sharon Tanton